We've received more questions about statutory rape concerning age-gap distinctions, so I'll try to answer what I didn't cover in the previous article on statutory rape. Now, I'm not a lawyer; I'm a web wonk. Please do NOT use this page as legal advice. If both people having consensual sex are the same age , it's not statutory rape. But it may be confusing to some people about the term "minor" and the concept of when it is "legal" to have sex.
California bill to lower penalties for sexual relations with minor heads to Newsom's desk
Age Gap Dating: Rules You Need to Know | The Sunday Edit
In the United States, age of consent laws regarding sexual activity are made at the state level. There are several federal statutes related to protecting minors from sexual predators, but laws regarding specific age requirements for sexual consent are left to individual states , District of Columbia , and territories. Depending on the jurisdiction, the legal age of consent is between 16 and In some places, civil and criminal laws within the same state conflict with each other. Different jurisdictions express these definitions differently, like Argentina, may say the age of consent is 18, but an exception is made down to 13 years of age, if the older partner is not in a position of authority over the younger one. The data below reflects what each jurisdiction's legislation actually means, rather than what it states on the surface.
18 year old dating a 16 or 17 year old? California?
In California, it is unlawful to engage in sexual intercourse with a person who is under 18 years old. This is a very serious crime known as statutory rape. If you are convicted of statutory rape in this state, you face severe consequences, including prison time and expensive fines. Call us today at to receive expert legal advice about your case.
It's important to understand the changes that happen at this important time. On the other hand, you can also get sued, gamble away your tuition through online poker, or make terrible stock market investments. It's good to review the basic age requirements when you're about to turn 18 so that you know what you can and can't get away with. For example, depending on the service, an year-old may either not be able to rent a car or have to pay a "young driver" surcharge, but he or she can buy one. However, a parent may need to co-sign on a loan if he or she doesn't have a solid work or credit history yet, which is likely.